DUI Penalties in Oklahoma
The state of Oklahoma maintains strict penalties for drivers caught driving while under the influence of controlled substances. This includes not only alcohol, but any other drug or substance that alters a driver’s ability to maintain safe operation of their vehicle.
The first time a driver is caught driving with a BAC, or Blood Alcohol Content, of over .08, they are subject to a fine of no more than $1000 and jail time between 10 days and a full year. This first offence is classified as a misdemeanor. Repeat offences are classified as felonies, and carry larger fines, and longer jail times.
It is worth noting that for drivers under the age of 21 with ANY measurable BAC, there are unique penalties. Drivers falling under this description will have their licenses suspended for six months, and be subject to a $100 – $500 fine, community service, treatment programs, or any combination thereof.
To learn more about DUI Penalties in Oklahoma call our office today for your free consultation.